halloween as a college grad

It’s no secret that I love candy. I think I could live off of it. I guess you could call me a ‘candy connoisseur’. So I guess it’s no shock that I love Halloween. It’s my second-favorite holiday after Thanksgiving of course.

However, I’ve realized over the years that my feeling towards Halloween changes based on my age. Let me break it down:

1.) Elementary school (ages 5-11) – THE BEST! Changing into Halloween costumes after lunch, a Halloween chorus and band concert (I was in chorus), and a school-wide costume parade around the school neighborhood. This was all followed by a kick-ass Halloween party during the last hour of school (snacks on snacks)! Home by 2:30pm, a bit of homework, then TRICK-OR-TREATING from 6pm-9pm (yeah me and my siblings were intense). as a child, you always had to make sure to hit up the best houses that you knew gave the big king-sized candy bars. By the time I was in 3rd grade, I had this skill down to a T. A true hustler.

As a child, you can be whatever you want, even if it doesn’t make sense.

Looking back at all of this, I really feel bad for the children that were Jehovah’s Witnesses. This was truly a day of exclusion for them.

2.) Middle School (ages 12/13)Just okay. Long gone were the days of celebrating Halloween in school. It was that awkward time when your parents told you to go trick-or-treating with your younger siblings, and you acted upset even though you still wanted all the free candy. Yeah. You’d get the occasional “aren’t you too old to be trick-or-treating?!”, but it didn’t matter. I continued to hustle for that candy without even bothering to wear a costume.

3. ) High School (ages 14-17)Subpar. I guess while most of my peers were discovering alcohol and partying, I was a bit of a late bloomer. I instead spent most weekend nights babysitting my younger siblings. Still supervising trick-or-treating, but not dressing up anymore. I was in a bit of a rut.

4.) College (ages 18-21)Questionable. I didn’t start drinking alcohol until my sophomore year, so alcohol became a routine part of Halloween and majority of my weekends. I guess I can safely say that college ruined the innocence of Halloween for me. It’s when it became okay to look like a slut for Halloween and think that it’s okay to stand in a line outside of a fraternity in the freezing cold while waiting to get into a party that would surely prove to be terrible. Besides, nobody wants their jacket to get stolen, which always happened at fraternities. Not only that, I began to realize that people made Halloween a whole weekend thing, with some fraternities having their Halloween parties a week after Halloween (WTF?). Though college-Halloween was an interesting experience, I only did it for sophomore and junior year. During my senior year, the thought of going to a fraternity party made me cringe, as both the omnipresent smell of desperation the sight of attention-seeking freshmen and sophomore girls was just too sad to endure.

5.) Post-college (age 22)Still Questionable. Old habits die hard, which is why I guess majority of women college-grads still find it alright to dress up like sluts, stand in lines in the freezing cold, and go to bars and seek attention.
So how did I celebrate? Well here in the Northeast, Mother Nature bitch-slapped Fall and told it to make way for Winter. Long story short, it snowed a lot and was very very cold. No way I was going to go out partying. I instead went shopping for sweaters and ended up dog-sitting on Saturday night and relaxed on Sunday. My workplace didn’t have power on Monday due to the storm, so I had a nice 3-day weekend, which made for a very Happy Halloween. On Monday night, I went over to one of my friend’s house with the intention of pumpkin carving and giving out candy to trick-or-treaters. While we did give out candy to the very few trick-or-treaters that braved the cold, the pumpkins remained untouched by the end of the night. Call it lame night, but it was effortless, which is what Halloween should be.

 Now, here I am back at work on Tuesday morning. I can’t wait for Thanksgiving. That’s a Holiday that I never need to make any plans for and that only has one universal intention: eating.

