destination reached

Around this time last year, I had turned in my resignation letter and was spending my last week at the job that brought me so much stress, disappointment, and frustration. I was so ready to leave MA and everything behind; my first post-college phase was coming to an end.

Now, one year later, I have finished all my classes for my Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) and a semester of student teaching. At the end of April, I saw a job posting for a chemistry teaching position at my high school alma mater (all-girls, private school). I took this as a sign, and sent my resume and cover letter to the principal. I had one interview, which seemed so low-key and informal. To be honest, while I made my way back to my alma mater, and passed familiar sights, it felt like returning home. Comforting waves of nostalgia swept over me as I entered the school and walked around the same hallways I walked 7 years ago. During this time 7 years ago, I was a naive, hopeful, and debt-free high school senior, busy finishing up AP exams/finals and getting ready for graduation. I left thinking that I would never return.

It’s so funny how life works.

You see, I had no say in attending this particular high school in the first place. I attended public school from K-9th grade, and at the end of 9th grade, my parents notified me that I would be transferring. Although I put up some protest when my parents told me I’d be going to private school, I was secretly relieved. Many of the public schools in my county just weren’t good. Ironically, I currently substitute teach in the same county now, and I can see that the situation has indeed become much worse. Although I have nothing against public schools, since I am a product of both public and private, I flourished after transferring to my alma mater, and felt free to be my quirky self. During my interview, I was able to communicate the positive influence that my alma mater had in my young, adolescent life. Everyone bullshits answers in interviews, but I didn’t feel the need to in this one. At the end of the interview, I was told that I was the fourth person they were interviewing, and they would be interviewing one more person the following day. I was told I would hear back in a week.

About four days later, I received a phone call, and I got an offer, which I accepted! And everything just felt right. So now I’ll be returning to my alma mater, but as a teacher.

I’ll end this post with the quote  I chose to be displayed near my senior year yearbook picture. I find it quite fitting:

“Life can only be understood backwards, but it must be lived forwards.” 

 – Soren Kierkegaard

Leave a Reply

